KB Cakes & Creations

Fingerprint Jewelry November 11, 2013

Filed under: Jewelry — Kristin Barrios @ 5:00 PM

I’m really excited about these pieces! And so are my kids and husband probably, because I’m not asking them to come over so I can smoosh their fingers anymore! Haha! These have been an ongoing piece of work, because I wanted them to be perfect. Well, they aren’t “perfect” but their darn-tootin’ close!

Many of you, I’m sure, have seen the fingerprint jewelry floating around on the internet. I love those! They are so amazing. So, me being me, I thought I’d tackle making my own. But what to make them out of? I don’t have the necessary instruments to cast my own silver pendants (I wish I did! I can remember carving rings from wax, molding the carving, and pouring hot silver to form the rings during my school years!), so I figured I’d improvise. Mine are made from polymer clay.

They are lightweight and varnished and formed to look just like sterling silver. They are, in my opinion, fantastic!

This one is my husband and I on one heart, and our sons fingerprints on the other:

Finger Print Necklace 1

Finger Print Necklace 2

Finger Print Necklace 3

This necklace showcases just the boys fingerprints:

Boys Finger Print Necklace 3

Boys Finger Print Necklace 1

Boys Finger Print Necklace 2

And because I couldn’t help myself, this necklace has my dog’s nose and my cat’s nose:

Nose Necklace 2

Nose Necklace 1

Nose Necklace 3

I also made a wrap style bracelet with their noses because I had cast a couple extra:

Nose Wrap Bracelet

I love the way they turned out!

 

One Response to “Fingerprint Jewelry”

  1. marrymathews Says:

    The above images of jewellery pieces added really so cute and pretty . So much thank you for sharing this .


Leave a Reply

