KB Cakes & Creations

Devin Lee Graduates!! July 20, 2012

Filed under: Cakes — Kristin Barrios @ 3:56 PM

My oldest nephew, Devin, graduated from High School in May. And I could not be a prouder Aunt! He is a very intelligent young man, and he left a great sporting and academic record at Blissfield High School. At the end of June was his graduation party because he was finishing out his senior season of baseball. And it was a great day to celebrate him and all he had accomplished. And all that he has to come…

As I am the designated cake maker of the family, I got to make his graduation cakes. Ok, so maybe Dev didn’t pick out the cakes (his mom did!), but I made sure he had enough chocolate cake (his favorite!). But I think the cakes turned out really neat and went with his other decor just perfectly. However, it didn’t start out that way!

Everything was going well…until Friday night. I had just finished mixing what I thought would be the last frosting batch I would need, when my mixer’s motor burned out. Yep…that would be the 4th one I think I’ve gone thru since I started making cakes. I really need to invest in a standing mixer, industrial size. Yep! Wishlist!! Anyhoo…I thought I was in the clear however, as I thought I had enough frosting to finish. By the time this happened, it was late, I was tired, and knew I would have some time to do final decorating in the morning. Dun, dun, dun….Saturday morning. Decorating away…and I need more frosting. Really?!? I had no time to get a new mixer, and while I was out running  around getting other last minute things…epiphany!! I called my husband and asked him to plug the charger in for the drill. After a pause, he said ok. When I got home, he looked at me and asked what the drill was for. And I told him I was going to use it to mix my frosting. He looked at my oddly, and I swear he was picturing me in overalls, a straw hat, and barefeet…yes, I am from Blissfield and proud of it! You see, my husband the city slicker (from the huge city of Adrian….) thinks that us Blissfield folks are bumpkins. lol…well, some of us are, but some of us are just geniuses in times of crisis 🙂

Needless to say, he thought I was crazy, but insisted I use the plug in drill instead. More power! (Insert Tim Allen grunts here….). And I must say, for all it’s hilarity, it got the job done!

And I was only 30 minutes off schedule with delivery for it (which was still way before the party started!). And other than all our family and friends on facebook (thanks to the hubs!)….no one was the wiser, and the cakes looked great!

Congratulations, Devin!! We love you! Good luck in all you do as you go after your dreams!

 

Leave a Reply

