KB Cakes & Creations

Bullet Shell Jewelry April 27, 2012

Filed under: Jewelry — Kristin Barrios @ 9:02 AM

I didn’t really grow up around guns. Well, at least not in the sense that most people use that phrase these days. My Dad has worked as a Security Officer since…well…for a long time! I can remember growing up my Dad working security at Michigan International Speedway’s Campground and visiting him there as a kid. My Dad carried, and still carrys, a gun for that job. I remember being nervous to give my Dad a hug before he left for the long weekend, because he had his gun belt on. So, my Dad had a gun, but I was never interested in it as a kid, never felt the urge to touch it or handle it, but I, nor my sisters, were ever really told anything about the gun. Perhaps that was because we were girls, and really didn’t show any interest in it, or guns in general. (Sorry Dad, lol…).

Flash forward to the present….I not only own three guns of my own, but I carry concealed and for my job as a Sergeant in the same security company my Dad works for. I also for a brief time was a member of the Adrian City Police Reserves. Now….that’s a far cry from a kid who was nervous to give her Dad a hug when he was wearing his duty belt!! :o)  Backtrack to 2003….I had already been working security for two summers when I came home from college as suggested by my Dad. It was fun, interesting, and for a short weekend, I could make a chunk a change for my poor college girl pockets. But in 2003, I graduated from college, and was working security again that summer….and I met my husband :o) He and I became fast friends, and in August 2003….he took me shooting for the first time, ever. After getting over the intial fear of actually having a gun in my hand… I was a goner after that, lol. It helped that for my first time shooting, I out shot him (he calls it beginners luck…but I still sometimes out shoot him! lol). From there, I kept shooting recreationally with him, but the following summer I made a decision to learn the essentials of carrying a weapon, and had great teachers in not only my future husband, but also a great man, Marc Kawahara (and several friends who helped me thru my CPL class…Tera, Al…). And soon enough I was an armed guard, and never looked back.

Zippy-de-do-da to the present….I still carry a gun. I still shoot. I have a great respect for guns, which is something that my husband and I educate our two sons about. They’ve shown an interest in guns from an early age (probably because they’ve seen their Dad and I suit up for work their whole lives..), and therefore we’ve also had to teach them to respect them. There is a great amount of responsibility when you handle a gun, and you must know that when you take it upon yourself to carry one.

So, long story for some jewelry that is both fun and beautiful, and means a lot to me. Introducing my Bullet Shell Jewelry. These pieces of jewelry are made from actual shell casings that I fired at the range. I then collected them, cleaned them, and made them into jewelry. In these pieces I used tiger’s eye beads, glass beads, silver beads and 9mm shell casings.

I hope to get some silver casings and also a couple different calibers. These are 9mm shell casings.

These would make beautiful gifts for friends and family. Look for other variations in the future, with more masculine designs.

Enjoy!

 

One Response to “Bullet Shell Jewelry”

  1. Lisa Says:

    LOVE these! I look forward to the silver casings! I will have to look to see what I have at home for you!


Leave a Reply

