KB Cakes & Creations

Yarn-gasm (Yahrn-gaz-uhm) March 20, 2012

Filed under: Crochet — Kristin Barrios @ 4:04 PM

Yep, you read correctly. Yarn-gasm. I just recently experienced yarn-gasm again a short time ago, when I went into Hobby Lobby and picked out a new yarn for a project. A wonderfully soft and smooth 100% Polyester yarn.

Ok, for those of you who don’t know what a yarn-gasm is, here’s the definition as it is described by other yarn crafting people:

Yarn-gasm (Yahrn-gaz-uhm)

-noun

1. the physical and emotional sensation experienced when entering a yarn store or fondling yarn.

2. an instance of experiencing this.

3. intense or unrestrained excitement over yarn.

And like I said this happened to me when I picked up the yarn to make a bolero for a dress I’m wearing this weekend for my brother-in-law’s birthday bash. So much so, that when a fellow crafter saw me walking with said yarn in my arms, she exclaimed excitedly in the store “ooo, new yarn!” and proceeded to reach out, rub the yarn between her fingers and smile. I of course replied with an excited smile and wide eyes and said, “It’s a new line! And it’s awesome!” We gave each other happy smiles, and went on our crafty ways.

Seriously….I’m not making this up. Yours truely and said stranger shared one thing in common for a brief moment….the love of yarn, and the joy it can bring. How could you not when this is what you see?!

Ok, so not everyone will do a little happy dance in the yarn isle at Hobby Lobby or Joann’s or Michael’s or……BUT….I bet there is one place that you get excited you get to buy something from. Be it clothes, shoes, beads, earrings, or power tools…everybody’s got their thing. I just happen to like yarn, and anything crafty :o)

So, I’m excited about this yarn I’ve picked. I’m hoping my fingers will fly this week and I will have time to finish this VERY cute bolero for my dress this weekend. Wish me luck! And I promise to post the finished product!

 

Leave a Reply

