KB Cakes & Creations

50th Anniversary Cake February 7, 2011

Filed under: Cakes — Kristin Barrios @ 9:52 PM

I was asked to make a cake for a 50th Wedding Anniversary. This cake challenged me in several ways. One being that it was the second cake I’ve ever made with any tiers, and this one had TWO pillared tiers!! The other major challenge, was I had to make roses. If any one of you has ever looked at a cake, and said, “Wow, those flowers on that cake are beautiful, and they must be hard to make”, are absolutely right. Well, at least for your first time!! lol  But, I must say, they came out really good. I’m very happy with the way they turned out.

And this is the layers ready to make the trip to get setup!

It’s always a bit unnerving to put a cake onto pillars…especially when you don’t normally do it, and when it seems as though it would be unnatural for it to sit on the pillars without falling. And always remember, don’t jiggle the table! lol  It’s not really that bad, but it is very stressful!! You breathe only when it’s up and standing, and you jump test it 🙂  (Which is something I made up, and involves jumping  a few times by the table, which I did, much to the panic of my husband, who was my second pair of hands that day). In hindsight, probably not the best thing to do, but it served it’s purpose…the cake didn’t fall over or slide 🙂

Three tiers, 8 pillars, and a few dozen roses later, this is the final cake.

I think it came out great, and the recipients of the cake liked it, too.  It was fun to challenge myself further with this cake. Perhaps the challenge of fondant will be next…..maybe!  🙂

 

4 Responses to “50th Anniversary Cake”

  1. Chuck & Sue Says:

    It was great and everyone raved about it! Great job!!

  2. It looks Great! and I think fondant should be your next challenge although I personally like the regular frosting. You have a great talent keep it up.

  3. Beatrice Rincon Says:

    Great job keep up the good work. Love Tia Bea


Leave a Reply

