KB Cakes & Creations

Choo-Choo!!! October 27, 2010

Filed under: Cakes — Kristin Barrios @ 10:44 AM

The second cake from this past weekend, was for some great friends, their little guy and his grandpa, and the rest of their family. And it was a train!!! And because Lisa loves me (and trusted me!!), I got to make my first ever 3D cake!!!

It ended up being a bit of work, because I was learning as I went…but it was worth it in the end. I started out with a frosting and licorice train track, then proceeded to bake and shape the engine, middle car, and a caboose.

Each car was a different flavor cake and had oreo wheels.

And for the rounded part of the engine I did a little experiment…out of curiosity! I had read up on it a bit, and that section of the cake was baked inside a mini ravioli aluminum can. Yep, you read right…I baked that section of the cake in a cleaned out aluminum can! It sort of baked over a bit (thank goodness I cooked it on a cookie sheet!), but other than that…tasted just like normal cake : ) Pretty nifty, huh??

This cake was very much enjoyed, and was a lot of fun to make. I even added a piped pond and mini pine trees…because every train set needs mini pine trees!!!

 

4 Responses to “Choo-Choo!!!”

  1. Both of your cakes turned out so great this week! Great Job!

  2. Karly Loar Says:

    Was this Adam’s cake? Aww… 🙂

  3. Beatrice Rincon Says:

    You are getting so good at decorating cakes keep up the good work.

  4. Lisa Says:

    OH MY WORD! We all LOVED this. It was so cute! It tasted Yummy! Once again, SO glad I trusted you! Amazing! Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

