KB Cakes & Creations

Raising Awareness for Apraxia September 23, 2010

Filed under: Jewelry — Kristin Barrios @ 3:38 PM

This past weekend my family and I had the opportunity to support friends of ours who’s little guy has Apraxia. We were part of Team Shawn for the Walk-A-Thon for Children with Apraxia! For those of you who don’t know what Apraxia is, it is a condition that affects development of speech. In Shawn’s case, he has Childhood Apraxia. The Walk-A-Thon is a newly formed one, the first ever having been in 2008 in Pennsylvania, and has grown to include other cities in just a short time.

This was my family’s first time being a part of the Walk held here in Adrian, and we had a lot of fun. So…why am I featuring it on my blog??? Because I can!! lol…..and because I think it’s a wonderful thing to see people come together to support each other, their families, and their friends!

I also made this really neat necklace for Shawn’s mom, Heather…..it’s the Apraxia logo. And you’ll also see some photos here of the walk. For more information about Apraxia, and what you can do to help….go to www.apraxia-kids.org. Because “Every Child Deserves a Voice.”

 

One Response to “Raising Awareness for Apraxia”

  1. Lisa Says:

    My son has apraxia of speech and I fell in love with that necklace when I saw it! Would you be willing to make another one? Also where did you get the shirt? Please email me lisacobb325@gmail.com

    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

