KB Cakes & Creations

USAQ Blog Piece :) August 30, 2010

Filed under: Jewelry — Kristin Barrios @ 4:27 PM

For the USAQ Blog Hop, I got to work making a unique glass pendant using USAQ Jewelz Mica Pigments in Super Bronze.

I began by using my VersaMark and putting a full square on a piece of dark maroon paper. Since we are moving quickly into fall, fall tones was the inspiration for this piece.

As you can tell, I was having fun playing with other ways to make fall patterns!

After stamping down the VersaMark on my paper, I used the Jewelz Mica Pigments to cover the square. I lightly dusted the entire spot.

Then I used a clean paintbrush to clean off the excess pigment on the sheet.

On the other images I had been making, I was stamping the image with VersaMark, then applying the Jewelz Mica Pigments to the image. As a different take, I’m doing it “backwards”, lol…and using the VersaMark-ed image to take up the pigments and leave behind the design. The following photos show that process.

I’ve been making a lot of jewelry recently, and decided to make this image into a pendant. I decided on the rectangle piece to get more of the image on it.

The above is the final finished pendant. To finish the piece, I strung together a necklace for it.

I’ll be giving this piece away to someone following the blog…so sign up to receive future blog posts, and leave a comment on here telling me you signed up! You could have a chance to win this piece! Happy blogging!

Check out USAQ Jewelz Mica Pigments at: http://www.usartquest.com/search.php?pg=1&stext=jewelz&sprice=&stype=&scat=

 

10 Responses to “USAQ Blog Piece :)”

  1. Jamie C Says:

    Great Job…and good thinking ;). I love that one!

  2. Brandy LaTour Vires Says:

    That is so beautiful. Iwish I had as much talent as you do when it comes to making things.I would probably save myself a whole lot of money on jewely then

  3. Karly Loar Says:

    I LOVE this one!!

  4. […] sure to check out Kristin’s blog for your chance to win this beautiful […]

  5. Suzy Carney Says:

    Very nice, love the necklace…

  6. Lori Says:

    Ooo, love this, the colors and shimmer are just gorgeous, and the finished necklace is wonderful!

  7. Carla Says:

    i just followed your blog. Thanks for the giveaway. It looks beautiful

  8. Congratulations, Carla!! You get to have the necklace 🙂 If you would be so kind as to email me your address, I’ll get it out to you. Thank you to everyone who came over from USAQ to check out the blog!

  9. I am now a follower – this piece of jewelry is just stunning!

  10. Wanda H Says:

    This is gorgeous!!! I love the way you did it!!! I’ve signed up to get email notices of your blog. Thanks!!!!


Leave a Reply

