KB Cakes & Creations

Memory Lane July 8, 2010

Filed under: Cakes — Kristin Barrios @ 4:15 PM

Hello all!

It’s been awhile since that first post. Sorry about that, I was busy working a special event over the 4th of July. However, during that time, it was requested by several people that I post pictures of past cakes. So, in response, we’ll be going down KB Cakes Memory Lane for the next few posts 🙂

My whole adventure into cake decorating, began about 6 years ago, with a red firetruck cake for my oldest son’s birthday party. We were throwing a good size party and I thought it would be fun to decorate the cake. Since he was really into firetrucks at the time, it came as no surprise that that’s the cake he wanted.

So, I went out and bought the colored tubes of icing to decorate with, sketched my cake, and got to work. Many, many, many hours later…lol…I finally got the cake done. And it was a hit!

Of course, not to be outdone, the youngest wanted a police car for his birthday. And so it began. Every year I would ask the boys what kind of cake they wanted for their birthdays and decorate it. I’ve done John Deere and Frosty the Snowman for the little guy, and Lightning McQueen for the oldest, and so on. It was after that second year, that my husband bought me for Christmas a cake decorating “kit” he had made up with cake decorating tips, frosting coloring, tools, etc. He spent time asking the lady in the store a bunch of questions to make sure I got what I needed to start 🙂

And then it started to expand out to family….sisters were requesting cakes for their kids, my mom-in-law requested cakes for her church, until I started to get requests from people outside the family. From retirement cakes, graduation cakes, birthday cakes, anniversary cakes, general party cakes…in all shapes and sizes, and all done with self taught techniques.

So, here are a few pictures from Memory Lane….and my next posts will have some of my favorite cakes I’ve ever made and their stories 🙂

Graduation cake

Birthday Cake for a Flower Princess 🙂

Fr. Bob’s Anniversary Cake

Sorority Mascot Party Cakes

Lego Birthday Cake (this was a toughie, lol)

One of the several John Deere versions.

Special cake, for a very special baby and his family…..

Hope you all enjoyed looking at them, more to follow! Spread the word and don’t forget to sign up to get the update of a new post sent to your email! 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Memory Lane”

  1. Your work is amazing!! Made me want cake just looking at them!! The John Deere is my favorite!

  2. Alicia Ford Says:

    Very nice! I like the ladybug and lego cakes :).

    -Alicia


Leave a Reply

